FIRED! Day 3

Today’s been rough. It seems the numbness honeymoon is over and reality is rearing its ugly head. Wish it could’ve just hibernated a bit longer.

The day started with me nearly getting on the highway to go to work after dropping my daughter off at school – total auto-pilot. I came home and bawled – the first (and I’m sure won’t be the last) time I’ve really broken down. There have been tears, yes, but not the full onslaught like today. It was ugly.

And, surprise, surprise – I didn’t feel like walking. I made myself anyway – took my dogs for a nice long one, but man oh man was I a bitch. They must’ve been thinking, “What the hell is wrong with you, Mom?” Everything was setting me off and I let them know it. My poor pooches. I couldn’t get home fast enough, and when I finally did I promptly climbed into my bed. That’s also a first – I’ve managed to stay vertical all day long until now. I felt pretty guilty about napping before noon on a weekday but gave myself permission to just shut down for a couple of hours.

The thought of food this morning made me sick to my stomach, so I decided it was a good day to do a cleanse. I’ve been on the Isagenix program for about 3 weeks now (sadly, will need to stop once my supplies run out) and this is my second cleanse day. The first wasn’t really that bad since I was busy at work, and I did it on a day I had an evening commitment. I didn’t get home, where there are many food temptations, until late and then I just put myself to bed. Today was hard and I was admittedly a little hungry, but I did it. I think I had to prove to myself I’m in control of at least some part of my life. (As a side note, I love the program. I have lost over 10 pounds in a pretty short period of time and am feeling really good. If you’re interested in learning more, check it out here – https://emorabito.isagenix.com/.)

All in all, I survived the day, just like I will survive this whole journey. I’m a fighter and have been through…..well…..maybe not worse like I was gonna say, but at least as bad. I think it’s pretty common for firings to take place on a Friday, so other firees reading this (I hope someone reads this some day!) are probably having a rough day three too. I couldn’t manage much myself, so your action items are pretty easy today.

Oh, and I did manage to crank out a haiku. My haikus make me happy – that’s all there is to it. I know they are not poetic genius or anything, but you will be seeing more of them anyway.

fired haiku.jpg

DAY 3 ACTION ITEMS:

  • SLEEP (ALOT) – I wish I could’ve slept longer, but I had to pick my daughter up from school.
  • FIRED! NOTEBOOK – I started a notebook dedicated solely to my FIRED! journey. I’m not journaling in it because I’m basically doing that here, but you certainly could and I recommend it. Although very few are reading my blog – it’s more for me – I find it highly therapeutic and am putting my innermost thoughts out into the universe in the hopes that it helps at least one other person. In your notebook, save the first page for an “index” and then number each of the following pages. You will write a short description in the index so you can find things quickly, i.e. page 1 – Chores, page 3 – Professional Contacts, etc. Things I’m going to put in my notebook include:
    • My extensive chore list, which is much different from my regular chore list because I now have time to do things I’ve been putting off for like ever.
    • My job-related tasks such as filing for unemployment (done), updating my resume, listing my key contacts, etc.
    • Some of my key job accomplishments. I will need it for my resume, and my termination was so sudden I didn’t have a chance to capture any of that information from work. I’m recording it now while it’s still in my head.
    • Basically, all of my super helpful action items will be going in my notebook.
    • Plus I’m sure I’ll think of loads of other awesome stuff.
  • FRIENDS/FAMILY – Today is a good day to reach out to some more friends and family. Set up some lunches or other together time. You need to be surrounded by your peeps.

Sorry it’s so short today, but I’m hungry so I’m going to go to bed. I can’t wait to eat tomorrow! See – something to look forward to. Life is good!

 

I'm passionate about writing, haiku, pit bulls, long walks and making the world a better place. Right now I'm blogging about #unemployment, #fired, #termination, #jobless.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in FIRED!
2 comments on “FIRED! Day 3
  1. Liz, people are reading your blog! Get it out there…on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest…everywhere!

Leave a Reply

