FIRED! Days 4 & 5

I didn’t blog yesterday because I used up all of my creative writing juices reconstructing my resume. And I only got 3 hours of sleep that night, so I was wiped out by the end of the day.

It’s funny because I’ve been feeling really bad about myself for the past few days. It was implied I completely failed my last employer – I mean why else would they let me go, right? But when I put together my notable accomplishments for my resume, I’m sorry but it’s damn impressive what I got done in a very short period of time. I have to keep reminding myself that I did exactly what I was told and this current situation isn’t about me. It’s just sooooo personal though – how can it not be about me? Any whooo…..

Last night, one of my awesome friends who has totally had my back since this all went down reached out to a bunch of her contacts and rallied me through looking at State jobs. I’m giving it serious consideration. It would certainly help my non-existent retirement situation and I could use some stability after 10 years in the nonprofit sector. I know State/Stability doesn’t seem to go hand-in-hand, but as far as jobs go, they do. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. I’m not going to be a fool again. My next job WILL be in a stable, hopefully sane, environment.

You know, it’s kind of a cool feeling to have no direction at the moment. I’m truly opening my heart and soul to the universe and am so excited to see what comes my way. I know it’s cliche, but an opportunity to completely reinvent yourself doesn’t come around too often. I’ve done it a couple of times and like where I landed. Hopefully this will be my grand finale, as far as reinventions go anyway. Although I could see me shaking things up a bit once I retire, when I’m like 85.

Speaking of being open to the universe – I saw something kind of cool today on my daily dog walk. I always let Wally lead and today he wanted to go up a trail we haven’t been on for quite awhile. There was this large heart hanging in a tree, gently blowing in the wind. It was so unexpected and really spoke to me. I felt like someone was trying to tell me something. I snapped a few photos and wrote another haiku (it has nothing to do with being jobless). The words were not on the heart I saw – I added them. Haikus make me ridiculously happy for some reason. Limericks too. Maybe I’ll share my first limerick photo with you sometime soon. It’s pretty hysterical, in my humble opinion.

IMG_0588.JPG

If you’re interested, my Twitter is @ElizTellsAll and my Instagram is @ElizabethTellsAll. I post more of my creative stuff like poems and the such there.

 

DAY 4 ACTION ITEMS:

  • Update Resume – Get that dusty old thing out and polish it off a bit. Depending on what direction you are going with your career, you may need to do some reformatting. Remember, there are a lot more options than just listing your jobs chronologically. My resume is a customized hodge podge of multiple formats to best showcase my accomplishments and abilities. 
  • Update LinkedIn – I finally sent out the S.O.S. today. It’s sooooo embarrassing, but it is what it is. I can only hope that my reputation precedes itself and that those who worked with me know what an upstanding employee I am.
  • Get Connected – Ask friends who work for large companies to share your resume. Start perusing through Indeed, Monster, Craigslist and some of the other job sites. Consider working with a recruiter.
  • Get Support – Look for an “unemployment” support group, or if one doesn’t exist, think about creating one. That’s what I did and there are already 11 members! Just like with this blog – if I can help even one person through this hellish journey, then I’ve made some lemonade out of this huge freaking nasty lemon. Our first meetup is next Thursday and I’m super stoked about it!

 

I'm passionate about writing, haiku, pit bulls, long walks and making the world a better place. Right now I'm blogging about #unemployment, #fired, #termination, #jobless.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in FIRED!

Leave a Reply

