FIRED! Days 7 & 8

Yesterday was all play and today was all work. I had such a nice day yesterday, that I didn’t even think about the fact that one week had passed since being FIRED. The best part was seeing Alan Cumming’s show “Sings Sappy Songs” at the Mondavi Center in Davis, CA. He was freaking brilliant. I’m in love. Yes, yes, I know he’s as gay as the day is long, but I’m in love anyway. He’s funny as hell but soulfully tender at the same time. And his giggle….well, don’t even get me started. It’s freaking adorable. Oh, and he has a killer set of lungs. Here are some of his songs on Youtube.  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5XixTDxMmodOToxZmV2aRHfQVh-eN5Ed

alan cummings

Today, however, I worked my ass off. I finally pulled a bunch of weeds in the backyard. I’m maybe 10% done. There are a LOT. It’s the same every single spring. Maybe this year I will have enough free time to actually make my yard look presentable. BONUS!

But, the really hard part was taking an exam to be eligible to apply for California State jobs. It was horrible. Seriously. It must’ve taken me an hour and a half. The way they phrase the questions is super confusing and you’re expected to remember classes you took in college…for crying out loud…that pertain to the job. That was 28 years ago! It hurt my brain a whole lot and I wouldn’t have gotten through it without the sage advice of a close friend, who happens to be an ex-State employee. If she hadn’t been sitting next to me, I absolutely would have said “F THIS!” and slammed my computer shut. No joke.

The bad news is there are different tests for dozens of different categories of jobs and I’ve only taken one. Hopefully it was the right one. The good news is I got 95% on this one and the test is good for a whole year. Thank you, Jesus.

As far as being productive on the job front, I also had a nice conversation with someone yesterday who connected me with a recruiting firm. Believe it or not,  my “Looking for a Job” headline on LinkedIn caught his eye and he recognized me from a public speaking engagement I did a couple of weeks ago for work. We don’t even know each other – not sure how we got connected to begin with – but he still went out of his way to message me and offer support. I’m very excited to speak with his contact at the recruiting firm on Monday. You just have to play the odds and go at your job search from all angles. Something is bound to pay off eventually.

DAY 8 ACTION ITEMS:

  • Connect with a Recruiter – It’s best if you can find someone via word-of-mouth. There are a lot of really unethical recruiters out there so do your research. There’s no guarantee a recruiter will land you a job, but it’s definitely one of the things you should try.
  • Check Out State Jobs – The benefit of state jobs is they are pretty stable and offer good benefits. I’m only familiar with California’s process, but I’m sure all states have something similar. I would recommend connecting with someone who works at a State department ahead of time and have them offer you advice – they’ve already been through the testing process so they know how to prepare. I think what helped me get a good score, thanks to my friend’s advice, was looking at the description of the general job category ahead of time and making sure keywords from the description were in my answers. The questions today were very tricky and confusing, so have someone there to help you muddle through. You might want to look at your college transcript too, if you live in California. They literally want you to list relevant college classes for every, single freaking question. It’s an inane process, but hopefully it will pay off.
  • Go see Alan Cumming – His show is legitimately the best I’ve ever seen and I’ve seen a fair share of quality theatrical productions in my lifetime. Check out his schedule to see if he’s coming close to your hometown. More info here: http://www.alancumming.com/sappy-songs-alan-in-concert/

 

I'm passionate about writing, haiku, pit bulls, long walks and making the world a better place. Right now I'm blogging about #unemployment, #fired, #termination, #jobless.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in FIRED!

Leave a Reply

