FIRED! Week 3

I can’t believe yesterday marked three full weeks since I’ve been FIRED! WOW – the time has been flying by and I have been a very busy girl. Someone teased me yesterday when they asked me what I was doing today and I had to check my calendar. I really can’t keep track of it all in my head! The answer used to be “working” Monday through Friday, and the few fun things I had planned for the weekend stood out in my mind. Now I have fun things to do just about every day! I really don’t know how I’m going to fit working full-time back into my busy schedule.

The high point of last week was submitting my first state job application! Can I get a WHOOP WHOOP?! In all seriousness, I think I put about 15 hours into doing the two state exams, creating a statement of qualifications and reformatting my resume. It is a p-r-o-c-e-s-s. But, I’m very excited about the position and hope I land an interview. Usually if I can get myself in front of someone, the odds are really high I will land the job. This one is with the Department of Social Services working with the data surrounding abused children. I’ve worked for child welfare nonprofits for the past 10 years, so it’s a perfect fit.

I can’t thank my dear friend, Pat, enough for standing by my side through each and every one of those 15 hours. Well, actually, she has put even more time in behind the scenes than that. She’s an amazingly giving person and my life would not be the same without her. We met through the writing group I formed back in November. She arrived at the first meeting even before I did, so she is officially my first writer friend. Yay for writing! My writing group is still going strong today, even though I created it specifically for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).

But I digress.

So, another significant happening last week was I saw my ex-boss and a co-worker. The function was a community event where my ex-job was being recognized, along with some other organizations, for work I had done for them. HA! But, I was personally invited by the event organizer because she insisted I needed to get back in the public eye sooner rather than later. She was right. I handled the “contact” better than my ex-boss, I think. Although my politeness was feigned, at least my jaw wasn’t clenched and my actions were professional. Not that her’s weren’t technically “professional,” it was just very obvious to me she was not happy I was there. I wonder if she thought I was going to cause a ruckus? I have to admit I don’t mind thinking that maybe my mere presence made her squirm a little bit.

The most interesting part of the evening, though, was when the founder of another organization approached me about their open development director position. I have known about the position ever since I lost my job, but had made the decision to get out of the nonprofit sector. I was real honest with her about this and why. However, she managed to pique my interest enough that we did have a few email conversations over the past couple of days. Long story short, the pay isn’t even in the right ballpark for me to consider the position, but her attention and the fact that SHE sought ME out provided me with a much-needed boost to my ego.

There’s still no word on my car, but I’m of the mindset that no news = good news. So, I wait. And walk. A lot. Funny how I started this unemployed journey walking a lot because it was therapeutic and now I walk everywhere because I have no choice. That’s okay – I’ve honestly been managing just fine and as you all already know – I really enjoy walking. I felt so worldly when I took light rail from my hometown to downtown Sacramento for that community event. I could get used to taking public transportation, that’s for sure, so I hope my next job is close to one of the stations!

I also decided to throw myself a birthday party! I was supposed to be in Puerta Vallarta with seven of my college friends celebrating all of our 50th birthdays, but the trip happened to be on my actual birthday which is coming up on April 25th. Even though I already have my plane ticket and was scheduled to leave on the 20th, there’s just no way I can justify going on a trip where I will still need to spend hundreds of dollars. That wasn’t the right decision and I’m comfortable with my choice to not go. But, I was feeling a bit bummed about it, so I’ve invited about 20 folks who have in some how or some way gone above and beyond for me in the past three weeks. It might have just been a kind word or reaching out, but even those small things have meant the world to me. Like I said before, those who are your real friends become real obvious real fast when you go through a life crisis like getting FIRED!

All-in-all, it was a really good week. I don’t think I broke down at all! I just thought of that, and that’s pretty amazing actually. OH and I even went out last night with my singles group and had a couple drinks (and a ton of fun), and STILL no tears.

i've got this

WEEK 3 ACTION ITEMS:

  • Claim Your Benefits – This should’ve been up in week 1, but I thought about it too late. I’m so bummed because I had vision benefits I hadn’t used yet, but I was let go near the end of the month so lost out on $100 in free contact lenses. Make sure you go to the doctor, dentist (I had done both of those recently) and claim all of the benefits that come with your employer-provided medical coverage.
  • Research Health Benefits – I still have to do this, but remember – you don’t have to use the COBRA benefits provided by your employer. From what I understand, that is a much more costly option than looking for your own individual insurance. I will be looking at Covered California this week.
  • Go Public – Get back out there if you haven’t already. I know it’s hard – being fired is humiliating. But remember, your reputation will proceed you and you only want to be associated with those who believe in you anyway. Hold your head high and present your very best self.
  • Apply for Jobs – You should’ve applied for at LEAST a couple of jobs by now. I only mentioned the state one, but I do have an interview with another organization next week as well. I’ve been laying a lot of groundwork – networking, spreading the word, etc. and have a few irons in the fire, so to speak.

 

 

 

I'm passionate about writing, haiku, pit bulls, long walks and making the world a better place. Right now I'm blogging about #unemployment, #fired, #termination, #jobless.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in FIRED!

Leave a Reply

