Writer Wannabe

My dream is to be a writer. A really good writer. One who can support herself with her writing. But I don’t know exactly what I want to write about yet.

Lately, I’ve been really inspired by non-fiction from the likes of Glennon Doyle Melton and Brené Brown, and the fictionalized memoirs of Michelle Tea. I think this genre of writing will be where I land, but I’m still working through things from the inside out.

While I’ve been hoping for the Universe to guide me in this decision and some subtle but meaningful sign will launch my writing career, I haven’t just been sitting around doing nothing. I’ve actually been writing more than I ever have in my life. You may have seen my FIRED! blog – I was let go from my job on 3/24/17 and to cope I started blogging about it. I’ve been writing a lot of poems too.

Heck – I have a lot more time on my hands, so I’m trying to take advantage of this blessing in disguise. And that’s exactly why I feel almost compulsed to bang out a book. I know my unemployment won’t last forever and I’ll be forced back into the office for 9 hours every day.

I LOVE this laid back lifestyle – it’s really too bad I can’t afford to live this way. I don’t just sit around the house doing nothing. I’ve been busy every single day and actually feel like I still don’t have enough time to get all the things done on my list.

What I DON’T want is to be paralyzed with indecision, so at this point I’m just writing to write. I’m hoping my stream of consciousness, unedited musings will result in some golden nugget I can build upon.

However, there are no guarantees and you won’t get your money back, so don’t say I didn’t warn you!

 

I'm passionate about writing, haiku, pit bulls, long walks and making the world a better place. Right now I'm blogging about #unemployment, #fired, #termination, #jobless.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Just Being Me

Leave a comment